side navigation PERRP / On-Site
 about LAWS
Consumers Business License/Permit Holders & Applicants Other Government Agencies        

"Minor" Any person less than 18 years of age who has not obtained a high school diploma or its equivalence and/or individuals subject to the exemptions contained within section 4109.06.

"Record Requirements" Every employer shall post in a conspicuous place frequented by minors a printed abstract of the minor labor laws, furnished by the Wage and Hour Division, and a complete listing of all minors employees which shall contain at a minimum the minors name, age, date of birth and occupation. Ohio Board of Education authorizing the minor to be employed by a particular establishment. Minors must be at least 14 years of age to obtain a work permit. Work permits can be deemed by the school superintendent. A new work permit must be issued each time the minor changes employment. Within 3 days of termination of employment the work permit shall be returned to the issuing authority. Also upon termination, payment for any and all wages must be received by the minor by the next regularly scheduled pay period.

During summer months when school is not in session, 16 and 17 year old minors are not required to obtain work permits, provided that the employer maintains proof of age and a signed statement from their parent or guardian consent to their proposed employment.

"Minor Wage Agreement" An agreement, prepared in duplicate, as to the wages and or compensation the minor shall receive for each day, week, month, year, or per piece. Sample agreements are available from the Bureau, upon request. No employer shall reduce the wage of any minor without giving him written notice of at least 24 hours prior to the reduction. Copies of the Minor Wage Agreement are available here.

"Wage Withholding" No employer shall retain or withhold wages or any part thereof because of presumed negligence, failure to comply with rules, breakage of machinery, or alleged incompetence to produce any standard of merit.

"Break Requirement"All minors are required to have a 30 minute uninterrupted break when working more than 5 consecutive hours which must be documented as stated above.

"Employment Hours"
Minors 14 and 15

When school is IN session minors 14 & 15 cannot be employed before 7:00 a.m. or after 7:00 p.m.; work more than 3 hours on any School Day; work more than 18 hours in any School Week; work during school hours, unless employment is incidental to bona fide vocational training program.

When school is NOT in session minors 14 & 15 cannot be employed before 7:00 a.m. or after 9:00 p.m.; work more than 8 hours per day; work more than 40 hours per week.

Minors 16 and 17

When school is IN session minors 16 & 17 cannot be employed before 7:00 a.m. or 6:00 a.m. if not employed after 8:00 p.m. the previous night; or after 11:00 p.m. Sunday through Thursday. There is no limitation in hours per day or week.

When school is NOT in session minors 16 & 17 have no limitation as to the starting and ending time and no limitation in hours per day or week.

Prohibited Occupations

Certain occupations are considered hazardous to minors and minors are prohibited from working in those occupations. For further information on Prohibited Occupations for Minors.

The above is a summary of ORC Chapter 4109. This summary does not include all of the requirements of Ohio's minor labor laws. Persons should refer to Chapter 4109 for specific requirements applicable to them, or contact the Division of Industrial Compliance & Labor, Wage and Hour Bureau. information on this site is believed to be accurate but is not guaranteed. The State of Ohio disclaims any liability for any errors or omissions.
If you would like to reach us, you may contact us at:

Division of Industrial Compliance & Labor, Wage and Hour Bureau,
6606 Tussing Road, P.O. Box 4009
Reynoldsburg, Ohio 43068-9009, (614) 644-2239

or you may E-Mail your query to:

  commerce home  /  forms  /  contacts  /  press room  /  feedback  /  privacy policy